Patents Examined by Collen A Matthews
  • Patent number: 8440490
    Abstract: A method for manufacturing a pixel sensor cell that includes a photosensitive element having a non-laterally disposed charge collection region. The method includes forming a trench recess in a substrate of a first conductivity type material, and filling the trench recess with a material having second conductivity type material. The second conductivity type material is then diffused out of the filled trench material to the substrate region surrounding the trench to form the non-laterally disposed charge collection region. The filled trench material is removed to provide a trench recess, and the trench recess is filled with a material having a first conductivity type material. A surface implant layer is formed at either side of the trench having a first conductivity type material. A collection region of a trench-type photosensitive element is formed of the outdiffused second conductivity type material and is isolated from the substrate surface.
    Type: Grant
    Filed: November 3, 2011
    Date of Patent: May 14, 2013
    Assignee: International Business Machines Corporation
    Inventors: James W. Adkisson, John J. Ellis-Monaghan, Mark D. Jaffe, Dale J. Pearson, Dennis L. Rogers
  • Patent number: 8183630
    Abstract: A microelectronic device including: a substrate surmounted by a stack of layers, at least one first transistor situated at a given level of said stack, at least one second transistor situated at a second level of said stack, above said given level, the first transistor including a gate electrode situated opposite a channel zone of the second transistor, the first transistor and the second transistor being separated by an insulating zone, and said insulating zone being constituted of several different dielectric materials include a first dielectric material and a second dielectric material.
    Type: Grant
    Filed: May 29, 2009
    Date of Patent: May 22, 2012
    Assignee: Commissariat A L'Energie Atomique
    Inventors: Perrine Batude, Laurent Clavelier, Marie-Anne Jaud, Olivier Thomas, Maud Vinet