Patents by Inventor Towhid Hasan

Towhid Hasan has filed for patents to protect the following inventions. This listing includes patent applications that are pending as well as patents that have already been granted by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

  • Publication number: 20150349343
    Abstract: An inexpensive method for making lithium transition metal olivine particles that have high specific capacities is disclosed. The method includes the steps of: a) combining precursor materials including at least one source of lithium ions, at least one source of transition metal ions, at least one source of HxP04 ions where x is 0-2 and at least one source of carbonate, hydrogen carbonate, formate and/or acetate ions in a mixture of water and a liquid cosolvent which is miscible with water at the relative proportions of water and cosolvent that are present and which liquid cosolvent has a boiling temperature of at least 130° C.; wherein the mole ratio of lithium ions to HxP04 ions is from 0.9:1 to 1.2:1, and a lithium transition metal phosphate and at least one of carbonic acid, formic acid or acetic acid are formed, b) heating the resulting mixture at a temperature of up to 120° C.
    Type: Application
    Filed: June 24, 2013
    Publication date: December 3, 2015
    Inventors: Yu-Hua Kao, Towhid Hasan, Robin P. Zeibarth, Xindi Yu, Murali G. Theivanayagam, Lingbo Zhu, Stacie L. Santhany, Jui-Ching Lin, Ing-Feng HU
  • Publication number: 20150303473
    Abstract: Olivine lithium transition metal phosphate cathode materials are made in a microwave-assisted process by combining precursors in a mixture of water and an alcoholic cosolvent, then exposing the precursors to microwave radiation 5 to heat them under superatmospheric pressure. This process allows rapid synthesis of the cathode materials, and produces cathode materials that have high specific capacities.
    Type: Application
    Filed: March 4, 2013
    Publication date: October 22, 2015
    Inventors: Murali G. Theivanayagam, Ing-Feng Hu, Yu-Hua Kao, Lingbo Zhu, Stacie L. Santhany, Ying Shi, Jui-Ching Lin, Towhid Hasan, Robin P. Ziebarth, Xindi Yu, Michael M. Oken