Patents by Inventor Ian J. Reynolds

Ian J. Reynolds has filed for patents to protect the following inventions. This listing includes patent applications that are pending as well as patents that have already been granted by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

  • Publication number: 20100029012
    Abstract: A method for identifying modulators of the Keap1-NrG-ARE pathway is described. In particular, an assay is described that identifies molecules that inhibit the binding of a labeled Nrf2 peptide with the kelch domain of the Keap1 protein. Molecules that inhibit the binding are activators of the Keap 1-Nrf2-ARE pathway. Activation of the Keap 1-Nrf2-ARE pathway may result in an increased accumulation of Nrf2 and the subsequent induction of protective enzymes, for example, the phase 2 detoxification enzymes. Activators of the Keap1-NrG-ARE pathway are useful for combating oxidative stress-related disorders, such as those associated with cancer, emphysema, Huntington's disease, light-induced retinal damage, and stroke.
    Type: Application
    Filed: November 2, 2007
    Publication date: February 4, 2010
    Inventors: Jonathan T. Kern, John W. Hess, Geeta Kandpal, Ian J. Reynolds
  • Patent number: 6019999
    Abstract: Described is a process for making a liposomal, ion-exchange whey protein and products thereof, which result in the sustained release of amino acids into the body's circulation to generally promote skeletal muscle protein synthesis, decrease body fat in association with diet modification and improve exercise performance. The whey protein is preferably encapsulated in a liposome using a cold, or non-heated, process. After the liposomal, ion-exchange whey protein has been prepared, it is then preferably lyophilized to deliver macronutrients for use as a sports nutrition supplement and for use in medical or clinical catabolic applications.
    Type: Grant
    Filed: December 2, 1998
    Date of Patent: February 1, 2000
    Inventors: David F. Miller, Ian Hicks, Charles B. Quick, Joey Antonio, Ian J. Reynolds, David Rush, S. Keith Klein, IV